top of page

The Twitter Project

Too often I hear teachers complaining about Social Media invading their classrooms and struggling with students about the ongoing debate of the use of personal devices while class is in session. I promised myself that I wouldn't go through this struggle and that I would focus my energy elsewhere to utilize the addictiveness of trolling Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and any other apps available.

When I was hired for my first teaching gig at Listowel District Secondary School almost three years ago (Diane Homewood - thank you for taking a chance on a very green teacher), I wanted to be different than the overhead projectors, worksheets, and old films I loathed as a student and often still observed in schools. Three years ago the Smartphone was just hitting it's prime and students couldn't put them down, especially Social Media apps. Also, I was part of this generation and my fascination with Facebook and eventually Twitter was only growing by the minute. I decided to try to implement technology that I loved, that students were becoming familiar with, and that made their Smartphones part of the classroom environment. Hence, I started the Twitter Project.

My initial experiment with Twitter found my Grade 11 Law students the test samples. It was difficult at first because this was still a time when not everyone had a Smartphone, we where nearing the end of the flip phone era. So I began to use it as a method of connection with students who had Twitter. Evenings, weekends and even some mornings before I left for work students would Tweet me their questions about upcoming projects, due dates, and even if they were going to be absent from class that day. A slow start, but the more we used it the more popular it became. Other students wanted to connected to me and the class as well. Eventually, enough students were on Twitter and following myself and their peers that we were able to take the project to the next step and use it as a 'back channel'.

Students loved using Twitter as a back channel during two specific learning opportunities; watching film and reviewing for tests. Students tweeted their thoughts and connections made to curriculum while watching. During test review, this Twitter forum would become an online classroom where students would ask questions and others would answer. They would basically review their knowledge by helping others study. This was as far as the project would get in Ontario.

I am not sure if I had exhausted the idea at LDSS, but it didn't make it as far as I would have liked. But the idea of implementing the project in a new school, with a fresh set of students really reinvigorated me. In the first semester, I used it a handful of times for different activities, specifically in my Social Studies 10-1 course. Here students grouped up to take on an identity of person throughout the historical globalization process. Their instructions were to make 10 tweets from the perspective of their identity had Twitter been around between 1400-1800. The results were priceless as students really got into the # game. Again, this is as far as it would go.

This semester I appear to have fully implemented Twitter into my classroom. I introduced the Project on the first day of classes with both my Social Studies 20-1 classes and made it manditory for students to create a Twitter account. They were allowed to use their personal accounts if they wished, but I encouraged a school account where usernames and passwords could be kept using a Google Doc. Everybody signed up.

Since, I have tweeted a 'Question of the Day' about once a week and students respond when it is convenient. We also use it to dissect films, and any breaking news stories live time. Students have connected with the materials in a new way. Tweets arrive at #145tweets at all hourse of the day and night on a multitude of topics. Students even tweet me with breaking news, or information that they feel relates to discussion in class. I have students with poor attendance records (over 80% absent), who still tweet no matter what.

This project took apporximately 3 years to be successful. I could've gave up on it too many times, but really wanted it to happen. This is what I have focused my efforts on and the way I have turned my classroom into a flexible, 21st century learning environment. I am way too excited to see how far I can take Twitter with my students, or if I've reached the threshold, what new technology I will try to master next!


MY FEATURED POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page