top of page

Instagram Provides Instant Results!

When I started the Twitter Project 4 years ago, in hopes of ensuring that Twitter became a mainstream educational vehicle in my classroom, I knew that I would out-grow it and that I just wouldn't be satisfied when I felt I had reached a ceiling. Now please don't get me wrong, I love using Twitter with my students and as part of my PLN. The creation of our classroom hashtag (#145tweets), has allowed students to have a depository of fellow student's opinions, feedback, and questions. So much, that students coudln't fathom the idea of changing the hashtag to #140tweets when my classroom was relocated. It allows me to have a continuous discussion with students at their leisure and toss the odd question out to them when real life events occur (when we're not together in class). As a PLN, many ideas I use have been shared by those in the same profession. The ability to try something new, showcase it to our peers, and relay what worked, what didn't, and ask for suggestions in real time can only strengthen our pedagogies. Twitter has really started taking off for Educators, as I see more and more of us joining the online PLN. But I had to ask myself; has that little blue Twitter bird flew the coop when it comes to connecting with students?

I know that the majority of my students are not on Twitter when I meet them, but soon incorporate it as part of their classroom environment. However, I have noticed that more students are joining Twitter because the majority of their teachers are now on Twitter and they do enjoy the easy access to tweets that remind them of tests or assignments, changes in routines, and just to see that tweet that shows that we're human too. So at the moment, I see Twitter as the liaison between teacher and students. A way of keeping flexible and up-to-date on all accounts. What I also noticed was that Twitter was becoming one of the only comfortable Social Media outlets for teachers to reach out to their students (admit it, we've all had that conversation about Facebook and students). So I thought to myself, how else can I get a student to pick up their phones or personal devices and feel liberated in knowing that they were the expert our that domain, not me? I decided to take another risk.

I started an Instagram account for Mr. Lowe's Social classes (MrLoweSocial). I started it slowly, trying to navigate my way through the appropriateness of Instagram. I wanted to do it right. I started taking some pictures of events happening in class, particulalry our PBL initiative and then started 'dropping' my Instargram account to students. Some students just found it. Once I felt that I had a handle of how Instagram worked I began promoting it to my students. At the moment, I only have 15 followers. But that does not discourage me, because something greater occurred.

A controversial current events topic that we discussed in Social 20-1 was that of Arctic Sovereignty. Students are asked to create 9 investigatory questions to lead their own research and ultimatley decide that if they were in the seats at the United Nations, who would they grant Arctic Sovereignty to? (Recognition for this assignment goes to Greg Oppedisano and Colleen Blimke). Now, in my opinion, PowerPoint is ancient and Prezi is 'so yesteday'. Aside from Sliderocket and other similar presentation formats it is really hard to be unique. That was the challenge to students - wow me! Use what you know and are familiar with the rock a presentation. One group in particular approached me and asked, since you took the initiative to join Instagram, we would like to do our presentation on Instagram.

They were the last group to present that morning. They stood up and didn't go to the front of the class. They simply asked that all students get their phones out, go onto Instagram and follow the username 'battleforthearctic'. It was chaos as students couldn't believe they were going to use their 'favourite' Social Media app to learn. The group gave a very informative, interactive, and modern education presentation. All students in the audience were connected personally to the information that was being delivered.

Instagram resulted in instant dividends. I wasn't sure how successful it would be as the social media lines are often blurred. I had visions of it backfiring and students simply refusing to let education enter their online domain. The mrlowesocial Instagram account is picking up momentum. I don't want to be involved in student's online lives, I simply want them to see that we can cater to the them as well. That we are willing to take risks and make concessions to model flexibility. Perhaps there are numerous teachers who have already ventured into the Instagram community, if so, I would love to hear your succeses. Your failures. How can we keep the vehicle of education relevant to our clients?

instagram.jpg


MY FEATURED POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page